This site does not support your current browser. Please view in a modern browser or on a mobile device.

2017 Awards

The Rolling Stones, Laura Mvula, Damien Chazelle, Donny McCaslin and Gilles Peterson were among the winners at the Jazz FM Awards 2017. The awards were held on 25th April at the impressive Shoreditch Town Hall in the heart of East London.

A glittering array of UK and international talent turned out to celebrate the very best of jazz, blues, soul and beyond, as the music industry and public figures, including Charlie Watts, Mick Jagger, Ronnie Wood, Laura Mvula, Van Morrison, Georgie Fame, Adrian Lester, Will Young, Maxi Jazz, The Brand New Heavies, Courtney Pine and more, gathered at a ceremony hosted by Jazz FM presenter Jez Nelson.

The Stones collected an impressive two Awards, fighting off stiff competition to take home the accolades of Blues Artist of the Year and the public voted Album of the Year, which were personally accepted by Charlie Watts, Mick Jagger, and Ronnie Wood. Blue and Lonesome producer Don Was sent a message direct from California, and Watts was also presented with The Gold Award in recognition of his significant contribution to jazz and blues from his long-term friend and iconic British jazz musician Evan Parker.

Don Was said:

“The Rolling Stones are among some of the most hard-working and talented musicians ever to step in front of a microphone, and when they kick into gear, the whole becomes far greater than the already gigantic sum of the parts… that’s exactly what happened during the making of Blue and Lonesome…”

La La Land and Whiplash Director Damien Chazelle was honoured with The Impact Award and thanked the station via video:

“I want to thank Jazz FM for honouring me with this year’s Impact Award. It truly means the world to me, I’ve been jazz obsessed my whole life, as a former wannabe jazz musician. I was never quite good enough to make it… so I decided to film jazz musicians instead and try to put jazz on screen… I truly believe in the marriage between jazz and cinema, and I hope to play a small tiny part in keeping that tradition alive.”

Other highlights from the night included Laura Mvula receiving the Award for Soul Artist of the Year, which she followed up with a memorable live rendition of “The Man I Love” as a tribute to Ella Fitzgerald, whose birthday centenary coincided with the event. PPL Lifetime Achievement Award winner Georgie Fame, who after being presented with his Award by Van Morrison, captivated audiences with an exclusive, one –off collaboration with MBE trumpeter Guy Barker, and Donny McCaslin flew in especially for the ceremony to perform material from his critically acclaimed album in memory of David Bowie, Beyond Now. McCaslin also took home the International Jazz Artist of the Year Award, and Donny was surprised with a special video from Tony Visconti, congratulating him on the honour:

“Congratulations Donny on winning the International Jazz Artist of the Year Award. When we did Blackstar together you blew our minds because you’re a one take guy… and David and I weren’t quite used to such professionalism. If it wasn’t for you, Blackstar wouldn’t be the success that it is, it was so much fun working with you and your band. This is a well-deserved Award.”

South London jazz/groove duo on the rise Yussef Kamaal were named as the Breakthrough Act of the Year, and in their absence the Award was collected by DJ Gilles Peterson, who discovered and signed them to his label Brownswood Records in 2016. Peterson also picked up the Digital Initiative of the Year Award in recognition of Worldwide FM. US drummer and social activist Jaimeo Brown was honoured with Jazz Innovation of the Year for his Transcendence project.

winners nominees
Breakthrough Act of the Year
Sponsored by Yamaha
Ashley Henry
Nubya Garcia
Yussef Kamaal
International Jazz Artist of the Year
Sponsored by Oris Watches
Brad Mehldau
Donny McCaslin
Robert Glasper
Vocalist of the Year
Sponsored by PRS for Music
Carleen Anderson
Norma Winstone
Polly Gibbons
Instrumentalist of the Year
Sponsored by Rathbones
Gwilym Simcock
Nikki Yeoh
Tim Garland
Blues Artist of the Year
Sponsored by The Piano Bar Soho
Bonnie Raitt
Eric Bibb
Rolling Stones
Soul artist of the year
Sponsored by RCS
Jordan Rakei
Laura Mvula
William Bell
Jazz innovation of the Year
Sponsored by Mishcon de Reya
Darcy James Argue
Jaimeo Brown
Moon Hooch
Digital Initiative of the Year
Sponsored by Pollitt & Partners
Dave Douglas :
Greenleaf Music
Gilles Peterson :
Worldwide FM
Jaimeo Brown Transcendence :
Work Songs
UK Jazz Act of the Year: Public Vote
Sponsored by Grange Hotels
Shabaka Hutchings
Soweto Kinch
PPL Lifetime Achievement Award
Sponsored by PPL
Georgie Fame
Impact Award
Sponsored by Everyman
Damien Chazelle
Gold Award
Charlie Watts
Live Experience of the Year: Public Vote
Ashley Henry Trio :
Jazz Re:Fest, Royal Festival Hall
Cory Henry & The Funk Apostles :
Glee Club, Birmingham
Julian Arguelles and Frankfurt Radio Big Band :
Cheltenham Jazz Festival
Orphy Robinson All Stars :
'Bobby Hutcherson Songbook' at Church of Sound
Roberto Fonseca Trio :
Gateshead International Jazz Festival, Sage Gateshead
Wayne Shorter Quartet :
EFG London Jazz Festival, Barbican
Album of the Year: Public vote
Sponsored by Arqiva
Anderson .Paak :
Donny McCaslin :
Beyond Now
Gregory Porter :
Take Me To The Alley
Kurt Elling :
The Beautiful Day
Madeleine Peyroux :
Secular Hymns
Rolling Stones :
Blue & Lonesome

2017 show highlights

more photos
Latest News