This site does not support your current browser. Please view in a modern browser or on a mobile device.




Pat Metheny to receive Jazz FM’s Gold Award

Legendary US jazz guitarist Pat Metheny will receive this year’s PRS for Music’s Gold Award at the 2018 Jazz FM Awards.

The prize recognises his life-long contribution to jazz composition, performance and education. Previous recipients include pianist Ramsey Lewis and Rolling Stones drummer Charlie Watts.

Metheny is revered by critics and fans alike for his versatility and improvisational insight, which has seen him reinvent the traditional sound of jazz guitar. His work ranges from modern jazz, rock and classical across solo and large orchestral settings, and he has received a staggering 20 Grammy Awards. He remains the only person to win Grammys in 12 different categories.

The guitarist said, “it is an incredible honour to be recognised by Jazz FM as the recipient of this year’s Gold Award”. Metheny will fly into the UK to attend the star studded Jazz FM Awards, which this year take place on 30 April at Shoreditch Town Hall.

Performing on the night are jazz singer Cecile McLorin Salvant, Grammy-winning bassist and vocalist Esperanza Spalding, who famously beat Justin Bieber and Drake to win ‘Best New Artist’ at the 2011 Grammys, and one of the UK’s hottest emerging jazz artists, saxophonist Nubya Garcia for what will be a powerhouse all-female line-up. Spalding and Garcia have been nominated for the Digital Initiative of the Year and Breakthrough Act of the Year respectively.

Paul Clements, Executive Director of Membership, International & Licensing at PRS for Music, said, “It is a genuine delight to be presenting Pat Metheny with the PRS for Music Gold Award at the Jazz FM Awards this year. He has worked with everyone from the iconic David Bowie to Joni Mitchell, Herbie Hancock and Anna Maria Jopek, on top of his prolific output with the Pat Metheny Group and more experimental solo works like Orchestrion. Needless to say, his influence on progressive and contemporary jazz cannot be understated, and all of us at PRS for Music would like to extend our warmest congratulations to Pat on receiving this prestigious award.”