This site does not support your current browser. Please view in a modern browser or on a mobile device.

2018 Awards

The landmark fifth Jazz FM Awards at Shoreditch Town Hall and hosted by Chris Philips and Jez Nelson saw a star-studded list of winners come to the stage to collect their awards.

Taking place on UNESCO’s International Jazz Day, the evening also provided performances from an all-female, cross-generational line-up of established acts and rising stars. Celebrated US vocalist Cecile McLorin Salvant delivered a spellbinding performance following her International Jazz Artist of the Year win, while multi-Grammy award-winning US bassist and vocalist Esperanza Spalding, who won Digital Initiative Of The Year, and 26-year old London-based saxophonist Nubya Garcia, who was named as the Breakthrough Act of the Year, electrified the audience with their exclusive performances, accompanied by British pianist and the evening’s Musical Director Ashley Henry.

The matriarch of British vocal jazz, Dame Cleo Laine DBE brought the evening to a fitting finale as she collected the prestigious PPL Lifetime Achievement Award, which she followed with a surprise rendition of “I’ve Got A Crush On You”.

Legendary guitarist and singer-songwriter George Benson was presented with the Impact Award by founding Jackson 5 member Tito Jackson whilst million-selling jazz guitarist Pat Metheny was in town to collect the PRS for Music Gold Award in recognition of his exceptional contribution to jazz performance, composition and education. Musician and DJ Goldie, a self-proclaimed jazz enthusiast, was on hand to congratulate Metheny:

“I’m really happy you’re getting this award; you’ve been a massive inspiration to people around the world, and especially to me.. Who would have thought… Goldie’s drum and bass music, all my arrangements, all my ideas were looking at your music over the years and listening… The whole world of you Pat has been amazing. God bless and keep going man!”

The popularity of the UK’s thriving young jazz scene, which continues to receive widespread international praise, was reflected this year with wins for explosive five-piece Ezra Collective, who collected two awards for UK Jazz Act of the Year and Live Experience of the Year, pioneering saxophonist and clarinetist Shabaka Hutchings, who picked up the Jazz Innovation of the Year honour for his multiple award-winning projects including the fiercely popular Sons of Kemet, who’s debut major label release 'Your Queen Is A Reptile' was released on impulse! Records in March, while Zara McFarlane fought off stiff competition to reign supreme as Jazz FM’s Vocalist of the Year for the second time since receiving the honour in 2015.

International winners on the night included genre-defying bassist Thundercat, whose critically acclaimed Drunk was voted Album of the Year, Robert Cray for International Blues Artist Of The Year and Moonchild for International Soul Artist Of The Year.

winners nominees
PPL Lifetime Achievement Award
Sponsored by PPL
Dame Cleo Laine
Impact Award
George Benson
PRS for Music Gold Award
Sponsored by PRS for Music
Pat Metheny
Vocalist of the Year
Sponsored by Lateralize
Alice Zawadzki
Liane Carroll
Zara McFarlane
Soul Act of the Year
Sponsored by RCS
Jordan Rakei
LeRoy Hutson
International Jazz Act of the Year
Sponsored by Oris Watches
Cécile McLorin Salvant
Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah
Instrumentalist of the Year
Sponsored by Grange Hotels
Evan Parker
Theon Cross
Yazz Ahmed
Jazz Innovation of the Year
Sponsored by Mishcon de Reya
Carleen Anderson :
Cage Street Memorial
Joe Armon-Jones and Maxwell Owin :
Shabaka Hutchings
Breakthrough Act of the Year
Sponsored by Yamaha
Ezra Collective
Nubya Garcia
Rob Luft
Digital Initiative of the Year
Sponsored by Oanda
Esperanza Spalding :
Jacob Collier :
Ronnie Scott’s :
Live Streaming
Blues Act of the Year
Sponsored by British Airways
Lucky Peterson
Taj Mahal and Keb’ Mo’
Robert Cray
UK Jazz Act of the Year
Sponsored by Cambridge Audio
Ezra Collective
Kansas Smitty’s House Band
Album of the Year
Sponsored by Arqiva
Blue Note All-Stars :
Our Point of View
Cécile McLorin Salvant :
Dreams and Daggers
Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah :
Denys Baptiste :
The Late Trane
Phronesis :
The Behemoth
Thundercat :
Live Experience of the Year
Sponsored by Rathbones
A Concert For Alice and John: Pharoah Sanders Quartet + Denys Baptiste + Alina Bzhezhinska :
EFG London Jazz Festival at The Barbican
An Evening with Dave Holland :
Ambleside Days Festival at Zeffirellis Cinema
Jazz Re:Fest :
Southbank Centre
Makaya McCraven featuring Theon Cross Trio and Jaimie Branch Fly or Die Ensemble :
CHICAGOXLONDON Day 1 at Total Refreshment Centre
Randolph Matthews :
Jazz In The Round at Love Supreme Festival
Ronnie Scott’s presents Ezra Collective :
EFG London Jazz Festival at Islington Assembly Hall

2018 show highlights

more photos
See the latest news