This site does not support your current browser. Please view in a modern browser or on a mobile device.

2015 Awards

John Thomson, a.k.a Fast Show “Jazz Club” host Louis Balfour, has been announced as the host for the Jazz FM Awards 2015. The British actor, best known for his roles in ITV’s Cold Feet as well as BBC sketch show The Fast Show, will oversee the glamorous night on Wednesday 10 June at London Vinopolis where the Awards will celebrate unprecedented talent within the jazz, soul and blues worlds.

Also confirmed for the event is the hugely talented House Gospel Choir who wowed the audience at last year’s Glastonbury with their uplifting show and have since gone on to play at Latitude festival, Buckingham Palace and have performed on Later… with Jools Holland and the New Year’s Eve Special of Top of the Pops. The night will also feature a performance from Rebecca Ferguson who will celebrate the centenary of Billie Holiday in addition to a very special performance from Hugh Masekela with Larry Willis, and Hugh will also receive the Lifetime Achievement award on the night.

The full list of nominations for the second prestigious Jazz FM Awards have already been announced with Gregory Porter, Snarky Puppy, D’Angelo, GoGo Penguin, Birdman soundtrack composer Antonio Sanchez and Zara McFarlane all up for awards on the night.

winners nominees
Instrumentalist of the Year
Alex Hawkins
Laura Jurd
Shabaka Hutchings
Vocalist of the Year
Sponsored by City Jet
Alice Zawadzki
Lauren Kinsella
Zara McFarlane
Live Experience of the Year: Public Vote
Sponsored by 7digital
Loose Tubes :
Cheltenham Jazz Festival
Blue Note 75th Birthday :
EFG London Jazz Festival
Jamie Cullum :
Love Supreme Jazz Festival
UK Jazz Act of the Year: Public Vote
Sponsored by Yamaha
GoGo Penguin
Polar Bear
Sons of Kemet
Breakthrough Act of the Year
Sponsored by Aberdeen Asset Management
Bill Laurance
GoGo Penguin
Peter Edwards
Blues Artist of the Year
Dr John
Otis Taylor
Valerie June
Jazz Innovation of the Year
Sponsored by Mishcon de Reya
Henry Threadgil
Jason Moran
Theo Croker
Soul Artist of the Year
Sponsored by Conrad London St. James
Jarrod Lawson
Lalah Hathaway
International Jazz Artist of the Year
Sponsored by Taylor's Port
Antonio Sanchez
Gregory Porter
Snarky Puppy
Album of the Year: Public Vote
Ambrose Akinmusire :
The Imagined Savior is Far Easier to Paint
D’Angelo :
Black Messiah
Dianne Reeves :
Beautiful Life
Chris Potter Underground Orchestra :
Imaginary Cities
Polar Bear :
In Each and Every One
Troyka :
PPL Lifetime Achievement
Sponsored by PPL
Hugh Masekela

2015 show highlights

more photos
Discover this year's winners