This site does not support your current browser. Please view in a modern browser or on a mobile device.




The Jazz FM Awards 2015: and the winners are…

The second Jazz FM Awards, in partnership with Serious, took place tonight at the Great Halls at Vinopolis, London Bridge. The night, hosted by actor and The Fast Show’s ‘Jazz Club’ Louis Balfour, John Thomson, featured stunning performances from PPL Lifetime Achievement winner Hugh Masekela who performed with Larry Willis, a beautiful tribute from Rebecca Ferguson, celebrating the centenary of Billie Holiday, and the House Gospel Choir. A surprise performance of the night came from Soul Artist Of The Year winner Jarrod Lawson.

Album of the Year (Public vote): 

WINNER: Dianne Reeves (“Beautiful Life”)
Nominees: Ambrose Akinmusire (“The Imagined Savior is Far Easier to Paint”), D’Angelo (“Black Messiah”), Chris Potter Underground Orchestra (“Imaginary Cities”), Polar Bear (“In Each and Every One”), Troyka (“Ornithophobia”)

Live Experience of the Year, sponsored by 7digital (Public Vote):
WINNER: Loose Tubes at Cheltenham Jazz Festival
Nominees: Blue Note 75th Birthday at EFG London Jazz Festival, Jamie Cullum at Love Supreme Jazz Festival

UK Jazz Act of the Year sponsored by Yamaha Music (Public Vote):
WINNER: GoGo Penguin
Nominees: Polar Bear, Sons of Kemet

Breakthrough Act, sponsored by Aberdeen Asset Management:
WINNER: Bill Laurance
Nominees: GoGo Penguin, Peter Edwards

Instrumentalist of the Year:
WINNER: Shabaka Hutchings
Nominees: Alex Hawkins, Laura Jurd

Vocalist of the Year, sponsored by CityJet:
WINNER: Zara McFarlane
Nominees: Alice Zawadzki, Lauren Kinsella

Jazz Innovation of the Year, sponsored by Mishcon de Reya:
WINNER: Jason Moran
Nominees: Henry Threadgill, Theo Croker

International Jazz Artist of the Year, sponsored by Taylor’s Port:
WINNER: Gregory Porter
Nominees: Snarky Puppy, Antonio Sanchez

Blues Artist of the Year:
Nominees: Otis Taylor, Valerie June

Soul Artist of the Year, sponsored by Conrad London St. James:
WINNER: Jarrod Lawson
Nominees: D’Angelo, Lalah Hathaway

PPL Lifetime Achievement:
Hugh Masekela