I’m inspired and impacted by you.”
Gregory Porter, recipient of the Jazz FM Awards 2016 Impact Award 

In 2013, Jazz FM launched the Jazz FM Awards with the aim of celebrating the work of jazz, blues and soul musicians, composers and contributors from across the globe. The inaugural evening saw Jamie Cullum perform with Lifetime Achievement Winner Ahmad Jamal, a ‘world first’ collaboration, and Ramsey Lewis give an exclusive performance to celebrate his  Gold Award for Outstanding Contribution to Jazz. Enjoyed by a who’s who of  the jazz world, the invite-only Awards brought glitz and glamour to the jazz music calendar recognising and commending those that had made an exceptional contribution to jazz music during the preceding year.

The second Jazz FM Awards took place on 10 June 2015 in partnership with Serious. Winners from the night included Gregory Porter, Jarrod Lawson, Zara McFarlane, Shabaka Hutchings, Jason Moran, Dr John, Bill Laurance with Hugh Masekela being presented with the PPL Lifetime Achievement Award.  Gregory Porter was again a winner at the 2016 Jazz FM Awards taking home the Impact Award which recognised the incredible contribution Gregory has made in bringing jazz to wider audiences. The red carpet evening saw Quincy Jones presented with Lifetime Achievement and stunning performers from Album of the Year winner’s Hiatus Kaioyte, Liv Warfield and Kandace Springs. Jacob Collier took home the Digital Initiative Award introduced to recognise an artist harnessing the power of technology. Jazz FM broadcast highlights  and interviews live from the Awards.