2015 Awards

The second Jazz FM Awards produced by Serious took place at the Great Halls at Vinopolis, London Bridge. The night, hosted by actor and The Fast Show’s ‘Jazz Club’ Louis Balfour, John Thomson, featured stunning performances from PPL Lifetime Achievement winner Hugh Masekela who performed with Larry Willis, a beautiful tribute from Rebecca Ferguson, celebrating the centenary of Billie Holiday, and the House Gospel Choir. A surprise performance of the night came from Soul Artist Of The Year winner Jarrod Lawson. Other winners included Gregory Porter for International Jazz Artist of the Year.




Vocalist of the Year sponsored by CityJet
Zara McFarlane
Other nominees: Lauren Kinsella, Alice Zawadzki

Instrumentalist of the Year
Shabaka Hutchings
Other nominees: Laura Jurd, Alex Hawkins

Album of the Year (public vote)
Dianne Reeves – Beautiful Life
Other nominees: Ambrose Akinmusire – The Imagined Saviour, D’Angelo – Black Messiah, Polar Bear – In Each and Every One, Troyka – Ornithophobia, Chris Potter Underground Orchestra – Imaginary Cities

Soul Artist of the Year sponsored by Conrad London St James
Jarrod Lawson
Other nominees: Lalah Hathaway, D’Angelo

UK Jazz Act of the Year (public vote) sponsored by Yamaha
GoGo Penguin
Other nominees:  Sons of Kemet, Polar Bear

Live Experience of the Year (public vote) sponsored by 7digital
Loose Tubes at Cheltenham Jazz Festival
Other nominees: Jamie Cullum at Love Supreme Festival, Blue Note 75th
Birthday at EFG London Jazz Festival

Innovation of the Year sponsored by Mishcon de Reya
Jason Moran
Other nominees: Henry Threadgill, Theo Croker

Blues Artist of the Year
Dr John
Other nominees: Otis Taylor, Valerie June

International Jazz Artist of the Year sponsored by Taylor’s Port
Gregory Porter
Other nominees: Antonio Sanchez, Snarky Puppy

Breakthrough Act of the Year sponsored by Aberdeen Asset Management
Bill Laurance
Other nominees: Peter Edwards, GoGo Penguin

PPL Lifetime Achievement award – presented to Hugh Masekela